Club History

Established: 1952

Current Team Name: Parramatta FC
Previously known as; Melita Eagles-Newtown > Parramatta Melita Eagles > Parramatta Eagles > PCYC Parramatta Eagles

General Information:


Melita Eagles was formed by Maltese migrants in 1956 after the amalgamation of 2 Maltese clubs the Malta Eagles (est 1952) and the Melita Soccer Club.(est 1955).


Melita Eagles joined the NSW Soccer Federation along with higher profile clubs such as Hakoah, APIA Leichhardt & St George who were part of the original breakaway movement from the old NSW Soccer Football Association in January 1957. Whilst playing in the NSL the team name was changed to Parramatta Eagles in accordance with demands by the ASF to remove ethnic origins from club names.


Parramatta Eagles was the first Australian club ever to be included (twice) in The World's Top 100 Clubs, placing 98th and 91st.


A 5 year partnership was started with the Manchester United Football Club to run an Academy from Melita Stadium.


The Police & Citizen Youth Clubs (PCYC) purchased football operations and PCYC Parramatta Eagles evolved, competing in the New South Wales Super League & Super Youth League for the 2007 season.


A new partnership was formed between (PMESC) Melita Eagles Sports Club & (GDSFA) Granville & Districts Soccer Football Association.

Parramatta FC gained promotion back into the NSW Premier League in 2011